About Polaria

Polaria – An Arctic experience!

In 1995, it was decided that the Norwegian Polar Institute should be moved from Oslo to Tromsø. The center is today known as FRAM - the High North Center for Climate and Environmental Research. Polaria was established to disseminate the research being done at the new Fram Center , and opened to the public in May 1998.

The building was designed by the JAF architect's office, and will depict ice floes being pushed ashore in Arctic regions.

Our purpose is to increase people's awareness of climate and the environment. We want private individuals, companies, and not least politicians to get an insight into the research that takes place in the High North. Furthermore, we want to promote that our actions have an impact on the climate and environment, but also that together we can make the right choices, and ensure a better future for those who come after us.

In addition to our exhibitions, we have a small aquarium with fish and animal species from the Arctic. Here you will find, among other things, catfish, king crab and lesser spotted dogfish. The aquarium is also home to four seals; two bearded seals and two harbour seals!

You can read more about our aquarium here.

Our employees

Anne Grete Johansen

Anne Grete Johansen

CEO

anne.g.johansen@polaria.no

anja-profile-light

Anja Berg

Reception and Store Manager

anja.berg@polaria.no

Espen Rafter

Espen Rafter

Aquarium Leader

espen.rafter@polaria.no

cecilia-profile-light

Cecilia Scandola

Reception Staff

cecilia.scandola@polaria.no

person-placeholder

Lea Zach

Reception Staff

lea.zach@polaria.no

gabriella-profil-2

Gabriella Berglund

Webshop Manager

gabriella.berglund@polaria.no

anne-profile-light

Anne Ragnhild Fause

Sales and Marketing / Communications Manager

anne.fause@polaria.no

stine-charlotte-profile

Stine Benjaminsen

Project Leader New Exhibitions

stine.benjaminsen@polaria.no

stine profile

Stine Fiskaa

Head Sealtrainer

stine.fiskaa@polaria.no

atanas profile

Atanas Gramadnikov

Aquarium Biologist

atanas.gramadnikov@polaria.no

marius profile

Marius Lilleby

Aquarist / Operations Technician

marius.lilleby@polaria.no

X